Disney Parks


1. Overview
2. Disneyland
3. Walt Disney World
4. Tokyo Disney
5. Disneyland Paris
6. Hong Kong Disneyland
7. Shanghai Disneyland
8. References


The Walt Disney Company currently has five theme park resorts located around the world, with a six currently in the planning stage.


DisneylandThe first Disney resort was Disneyland Resort, located in Anaheim, California. The park opened on July 17, 1955. The resort is located on 500 acres.

Currently, the resort contains two parks; Disneyland and Disney's California Adventure Park. It also has one shopping center and three hotel resorts.

The Disneyland park contains eight themed areas: Main Street, U.S.A.; Adventureland; New Orleans Square; Frontierland; Critter Country; Fantasyland; Mickey's Toontown; and Tomorrowland. At the center of the park is Sleeping Beauty's castle.

Disney's California Adventure Park opened in 2001 and contains five areas: Sunshine Plaza, Paradise Pier, Golden State, Hollywood Pictures Blackout, and A Bug's Land.

Walt Disney World

Disney WorldThe Walt Disney World Resort was the second Disney theme park. The park is located in its own cities; Lake Buena Vista and Bay Lake, Florida. The park is 25,000 acres; the size of San Francisco. Disney World is the largest vacation resort in the world.

Disney world contains four theme parks, two water parks, one shopping/entertainment complex, and 20 hotels.

Magic Kingdom contains seven themed lands: Main Street, U.S.A; Adventureland, Frontierland, Liberty Square, Fantasyland, Tomorrowland, and Mickey's Toontown Fair. At the center of the park is Cinderella's Castle.

Epcot was the second park and is dedicated to international culture and technological innovation.

The third park is Disney's Hollywood Studios, a show business themed park.

The fourth, and newest, park is Disney's Animal Kingdom; the theme is animal conservation.

Disney World also contains two water parks. Typhoon Lagoon is based on a tropical paradise that suffered a typhoon. Blizzard Beach is based on a blizzard hitting Florida.

Tokyo Disney

Tokyo DisneyTokyo Disney is Disney's fourth park and the first located in Asia. It is located in Urayasu, Chiba, Japan and opened on April 15, 1983. While the park is licensed by Disney, it is owned and operated by The Oriental Land Company. Despite not owning the park, Disney built the park and has some degree of control.

Tokyo Disney contains two theme parks, one shopping area, and three hotel resorts.

The Tokyo Disneyland park contains World Bazaar (Mainstreet, U.S.A.), Adventureland, Westernland (Frontierland), Critter Country, Fantasyland, Toontown, and Tomorrowland. The center of the park is Cinderella's Castle.

The second theme park is Tokyo DisneySea, one of Disney's most popular parks worldwide. The park opened September 4, 2001. The park has a nautical exploration theme.

Disneyland Paris

Disneyland ParisDisneyland Paris is Disney's fourth resort and second outside of the United States. The park opened on April 12, 1992 and is located in Marne-la -Vallé e, France. The park was originally named Euro Disney Resort when it opened, but was renamed in 1995. After being renamed, the park saw its first quartly profit. Disneyland Paris is owned by Euro Disney S.C.A., a French company; Disney owns 39.78% of it's stock.

Disneyland Paris is located on 4,940 acres and is divided into three parks, one shopping center, and seven hotels.

The Disneyland Park contains five themed areas: Main Street, U.S.A.; Frontierland;, Adventureland; Fantasyland, and Discoveryland. In the center of the park is Le Château de la Belle au Bois Dormant, a castle based of of the castle in Beauty and the Beast.

Located next to Disneyland Park is Walt Disney Studios Park. Based on a film studio, the park opened in March of 2002.

The third park is Disneyland Golf, which is a Disney themed golf course. While the park is popular with adults, there is also a section for children.

Hong Kong Disneyland

Hong Kong DisneylandHong Kong Disneyland is Disney's fifth resort and is located in Penny's Bay, Lantau Island, Hong Kong, China. The park opened to the public on September 12, 2005. Hong Kong Disneyland is owned jointly by The Walt Disney Company and Government of Hong Kong through Hong Kong International Theme Parks. While the park currently only consists of one theme park and two hotels, the park is 320 acres and future expansion is planned.

In order to avoid cultural issues, Disney incorporated Chinese culture, customs, and traditions in the building and design of the park. Feng Shui was used in the designing of the park and it opened on an auspicious date.

Like other Disneyland parks, it includes Main Street, USA; Fantasyland, Adventureland, and Tomorrowland. Located at the center of the park is Sleeping Beauty's castle. Cast members use both English and Chinese to communicate. Hong Kong Disneyland is the smallest Disney park and currently is not meeting its expected annual visitor goals.

Three new themed areas are expected to open in 2014: Grizzly Trail, Mystic Point, and Toy Story Land.

Shanghai Disneyland

Shanghai Disneyland is currently being planned and is expected to open in 2014. It will be located in the Pudong District of Shanghai, China. Disney received the approval of the Chinese government to build the resort on November 4, 2009.

Because the resort is still in the planning stages, no additional information is currently available.